top of page

Veggie Tacos

As a college student, I don’t always have time to make incredibly complex meals or can afford to eat at restaurants. I’ve found that making meals at home can be fun, healthy, cheap, and still delicious if I have an hour or two to throw things together. I recently had some spare time and prepared, leftover ingredients to throw together some tacos. That is, if you still consider veggies wrapped in a tortilla “tacos”.

I started by lightly tossing some already prepped butternut squash, sweet potato, red onions, and carrots in olive oil and evenly spreading them on a tray to roast. Peeling and cutting all the veggies I mentioned takes me about an hour if I’m taking my time, but if I had just prepared what I used for this meal it would only take me about 15 minutes. This will vary per person as you decide what vegetables to use and if you stick to mine, how much of each. I set the oven to 400 degrees and my timer to 25 minutes.

While my vegetables roasted, I cooked ¼ cup of red quinoa and warmed my tortillas on the stove. Although the entire process is pretty easy, the easiest part is putting everything together by layering the spinach, quinoa, and veggies. I topped everything off with some crushed red pepper and lemon juice. If you like hot sauce as much as I do, that makes a good addition as well.

This meal is vegetarian friendly, as well as vegan friendly depending on what tortillas you buy.

Full ingredient list

  • Red onion

  • Butternut squash

  • Carrots

  • Sweet potato

  • Spinach

  • Avocado

  • Lemon

  • Red quinoa

  • Tortillas

  • Crushed red pepper

  • Olive oil

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page